Twitter beyond its prime? Think again.

As I confess in my “About Me” section, I am an absolute social media junkie. If you have not gathered that by now via my posts, this post will definitely solidify that in your mind.

Today I was scanning my Twitter feed, when all of the sudden a tweet popped up from John Mayer. I admit it: I follow a few celebrities on Twitter but very few… well, maybe more than a few. Anyway, back to this blog post: All John Mayer tweeted was a link. Naturally, I clicked on this link and was pretty surprised by what I found.

It was a link to his most recent blog post titled “Twitter Isn’t “Over”, I’m Over It”. In it he claims, “I… think that the days of “Twitter: The Breakthrough” have passed, as has been and will continue to be the case for every online social network. It’s reached it’s cruising altitude, so to speak.”

Wait, WHAT? This coming from the man who sells t-shirts at his concerts with just “@johncmayer” on the front. How can someone who has so readily embraced Twitter suddenly turn against it so violently? And this claim of his, that “the days of Twitter: The Breakthrough have passed” is beyond false.

Twitter recently shared that new users are signing up at the rate of 300,000 per day; Twitter users tweet on average over 55 million tweets per day. Danny Sullivan, the editor-in-chief of Search Engine Land, stated that by next month, the number of tweets per day will increase to 1 billion. While these statistics show that a lot of content is being produced on Twitter, it does not prove that this content is of value to those who consume and produce it.

Courtesy of TheNextWeb.com

On December 8, 2009, Dell reported that by using Twitter, it rang up a total of 6.5 million dollars worth of sales. Many other Twitter accounts are being created for major corporations as we speak (well, write). The vast majority of companies that use Twitter see an ROI within months of registration. According to Textwise, over 66% of the content tweeted on Twitter is something aside from a personal update (where that person is, what they are doing, etc).

While I understand that John Mayer may be tired of this social medium, it is clear that the vast majority of Internet users are not. It is also clear that “Twitter: The Breakthrough” is not over just yet: Dell, for example, continues to report increased sales from Twitter, and many other companies have also been reporting the benefits Twitter has brought.

Furthermore, John Mayer asserts, “I don’t think it’s the healthiest thing in the world to read scads of mentions/@replies and effectively open the floodgate of other people’s approval/disapproval.” I can name at least 10 companies that would beg to differ. One example comes to mind immediately: Vistaprint. Yesterday a friend complained on Twitter about how her new Vistaprint business cards’ typeface was so small it was essentially illegible. What did Vistaprint do? Respond immediately via tweet. My friend is now expecting brand new, free, redesigned business cards in three days. This is only one example of companies using Twitter for improved customer relations and, thus, improved customer service.

At this point, John Mayer’s reputation is so damaged that a simple @ reply to a fan may not control the general outrage he receives via Twitter. But, it would be a start. It would most likely lead to a better public image for Mayer and an improved relationship with his fan base.

Twitter still has a lot of benefit to offer all of those who use it, and I hope this blog post convinced you of its importance to you, your business and your personal brand.

John Mayer, you can move on to a new social medium, but know that you along with the rest of us can still glean a great deal of benefit from Twitter.

6 thoughts on “Twitter beyond its prime? Think again.

  1. I agree with you for two reasons. First, I don’t think 95% of the Users of Social Media understand the value of the link between Twitter and Blogs. In a world of personal branding Twitter is the place to connect to an audience beyond your ‘friends’ with hashtags. We’re just seeing the beginning of the use of Twitter/Blog branding and when it’s done I think will see the demise of the resume’ with employers saying, “Please submit you’re Twitter name”.

    Second, Twitter seems to have more growth potential than Facebook. In five years we’ll look back on today’s Twitter like is was Atari’s Pong…oops, I just dated myself.

    Good post!

    1. Thank you so much for your comment, Paul! I totally remember Pong and playing it, so no worries on dating yourself.

      I think you are very right about Twitter’s growth potential. I know at least five people who have received job offers from their Twitter activity, and a few more who actually had to pitch themselves in 140 characters for jobs in PR.

      I look forward to receiving more comments from you in the future!

  2. Lauren,

    I thought your blog post was very insightful and well done. You’re such a talented writer; I always enjoy reading your work!

    Now back to John Mayer…

    I just read his blog post as well. He seems to really like the idea of Tumblr.com. What are your thoughts on Tumblr?

    1. Hi Lauren,

      Thank you! It’s funny that you should comment on my post because I was going to comment on yours just the other day. I actually am really captivated with Tumblr. I do not think it will replace Twitter in any way, but I think the blog formats it offers are more creative and interesting than those of WordPress. One of my favorite blogs (http://felldowntherabbithole.tumblr.com/archive) is a Tumblr blog. I would love to create one of my own! What do you think of Tumblr?

      Thank you for your comment!

  3. Hi Lauren,

    Thanks for including us as an example in your post. We appreciate it and are glad that your friend got helped out. We use social media as a way to build a closer relationship with our customers and help in any way we can. Thanks again.

    Jeff Esposito
    PR Manager
    Vistaprint
    @vistaprint

    1. Hi Jeff,

      I’m happy to highlight VistaPrint in my blog! The fact that you read this post and responded further proves how dedicated VistaPrint is to building relationships with its customers via social media. I respect your company and its social media policies quite a lot, not to mention the amazing business cards it produces! You have definitely gained an advocate in me and my friend who originally had issues with her business cards. Thank you for your dedication to building an online community and for your comment on my blog.

      Lauren

Leave a Reply

