So Long, Farewell, Auf Wiedersehen, Goodbye – Well, For a Few Weeks

This blog post marks my final, forced blog post. As I explained in my first post, this blog has been an assignment for my Strategic Public Relations Writing class (J452). Now that I am entering my final week of classes as an undergraduate, this will be my last post for my J452 class, specifically.

Fear not! I definitely intend on maintaining this blog forever, hopefully. I will be taking a brief hiatus though in order to complete my undergraduate degree and begin my life as an employed post-grad. I would like to focus this post on just that: my road to becoming an employed post-grad.

Just like many other undergraduates, I have been on the job hunt for a few months now. In all honesty, I really have not been searching very hard at all. I only filled out an application for one job, yet I have been in the running for three very competitive internships.

“How does this happen?” you may ask. One word: networking. The largest network I have created since being at school is with my fellow students… I knew many of the public relations graduates from last year (Class of 2009), which proved very beneficial in my job hunt. Each who I contacted was so graciously willing to assist me in my attempt to find an entry-level position.

While I have had the opportunity to meet many skilled, talented and seasoned PR professionals along the way, the reason why I have been considered for these internships is because of the relationships I built with my peers in the School of Journalism and Communication at the University of Oregon. Those who you surround yourself with now will prove to be one of your best assets when it comes time to begin searching for a job.

I hope this blog has been helpful for all who have read it, and, like I said, it will continue. Expect my next post in the first week of July; then I can call myself a young public relations professional (how exciting is that!?).

How were you able to find your first job? Was it through a person within your network? Was it complete luck? Let me know! I am very interested to hear other peoples’ stories.

2 thoughts on “So Long, Farewell, Auf Wiedersehen, Goodbye – Well, For a Few Weeks

  1. Well… “forced” might not be the word I would choose. 🙂
    Glad to see you have plans to continue your blog. You’re a great writer and other young pros can learn a lot from your experience.

    1. Thank you, Kelli! That really means a lot to me. I will definitely continue to read Pros In Training and am very much so looking forward to learning more from you in the years to come!

Leave a Reply

