How Quickly Life Changes…

This marks my first post-graduation blog post! I apologize for its tardiness, as I originally promised its posting during the first week of July. Life has been crazy to say the least.

In my former post, I discussed an internship I was offered at a boutique tech agency in Orlando, Florida. My set start date was June 21, but unfortunately I was not there. In the end, I decided to turn the offer down. It was one of the hardest decisions I have ever made, but I know it was the best choice for me.

After I turned the offer down, my life was full of uncertainty… I had been planning on moving to Orlando, living with my grandparents and beginning my PR career for about a month at that point, and suddenly all of that was gone. This was self-inflicted, mind you, but I was still reeling. It didn’t help that I made this decision the day after my college graduation, where numerous others had been discussing their joblessness and how difficult the market was/still is.

Once I moved back in with my family for the summer, I began to reevaluate my situation. The way I saw it, I had two options: travel or continue to search for work. With so many of my friends having internships lined up for this summer, I felt a strong pull to continue looking for work. At the same time, the voice of one of my professor’s kept ringing in my ears…

“Take this time to travel or just take a break! Gain a greater understanding of the world because this is one of the only times in your life you will be able to. How long have you been in school, Lauren?”

“Umm, 17 years?”

“Exactly! Give yourself some time off!”

Upon my initial return from Australia in December 2009, I had said: “I am going to take the summer off after graduation, travel and look for a job in the fall.” Why had that changed so drastically? Being friends with some of the most talented and competitive PR students in the country: that’s why.

So, after much thought, I did a complete 180 from the general trajectory of my life and decided to take the summer off and travel. I booked a round trip flight to Greece and cannot wait for my adventure to begin.

I am definitely still searching for work. If the right opportunity arises, I will not hesitate to grab it by the horns, but until then I will be networking, searching for work and traveling. I believe everyone deserves a break at least once in their lives. I know I certainly needed one. (If you know me, you know how intense of an over-achiever I am 🙂 ).

My point is: No matter what point you are at in life, if you need to find peace or just need some air, take a break! So far, mine has been incredibly beneficial. I will continue to write posts pertaining to public relations and social media on this blog, of course, so fear not. If you would like to follow my travel adventures, head over to my tumblr page: ohbravenewworld.tumblr.com.

I hope this post was helpful for you, and thank you so much for reading.

Leave a Reply

