Atonement

Dearest Cecilia, the story can resume. The one I had been planning on that evening walk. I can become again the man who once crossed the surrey park at dusk, in my best suit, swaggering on the promise of life. The man who, with the clarity of passion, made love to you in the library. The story can resume. I will return. Find you, love you, marry you and live without shame.

While I am clearly a woman and the gender roles in this quote would be reversed in real life, I feel it properly conveys how I feel about my blog and what my absence has meant to its readers. This is my promise to my readers from now onwards:

Dearest Readers, the story can resume. The one I had been planning on that afternoon walk. I can become again the woman who crossed the stage at graduation, in a hideous green robe, swaggering on the promise of life. The woman who, with the clarity of passion, made a commitment to maintain my blog indefinitely. The story can resume. I have returned to write for you, entertain you, teach you and blog with out shame.

One thought on “Atonement

Leave a Reply

